Celebrating the Before and After Life

20130124-104810.jpg

Today would have been my Mom’s 74th Birthday. On Sunday, January 20, 2013 my siblings and family gathered to release 74 balloons and celebrate and Mom’s life. Her birthday is extremely hard for me because I wasn’t with Mom for her last birthday. Had I known last year was going to be her last, I would have worked harder to be at her side. God ordained things to happen the way they did. I don’t feel any guilt because when I was and could be there, I was and I enjoyed every single moment of it no matter how hard it was. As I continue to travel this road from grief to healing, I ask for continued prayers. The void in my heart and not having her here still hurts. I pray constantly for healing and restoration.

Mom, I carry your love in my spirit and your words in and my heart. I miss your smile and laughter. I long to hear your voice, smell your scent and to be able to rest in the comfort of your arms. I cherish every single card you gave me, the wisdom you provided, every prayer when you prayed for, with and over me and my son Adreyn (your baby), for every conversation, every high and low, and everything that you represented as a woman of God. I thank you for being there for me and allowing me being there for you. I’m honored to have had the opportunity to take care of you the way you took care of me. He gave you 73 years of a glorious life here and presented you with the gift of eternal life on the other side. God blessed and granted me 31 years to enjoy a life with you and for that I am humbled and grateful for that honor.

Happy Birthday, Mamee! You are loved and missed.

20130124-101752.jpg

Leave a Reply

