Be Who You Are

When becoming a mother for the first time, you have 1001 questions. You read books, you talk with other mothers, and rely on what your own Mother taught you. After all you want to be the BEST Mother you can be. Eventually after trail and error you learn what works for you. You also learn that the learning never ceases. Children are taught right from wrong and the difference between good and bad. Those things are apart of the foundation and core values set by your parents and loved ones. We are also taught to be the best “YOU” you can be. Embrace “YOUR” beauty and do the best “YOU” can. School teaches reading, writing, math, etc. Then there’s life, Mom always said “Life will teach you things you will never learn in the classroom.”

I was born a daughter, sister, aunt, niece and cousin. I didn’t know what those titles meant. I had responsibilities of being a daughter to my Mother but what about to the other members of my family? What exactly does a sister do? How am I supposed to be an “aunt” when I have two nephews older than me? (One of them had the nerve to make me a “great aunt”.) For the longest time, I didn’t feel like I connected with my siblings. I connected with my niece who was more like my little sister. It wasn’t until I reach adulthood that I was able to have a typical relationship with my siblings. We talk, laugh, joke, and fellowship with one another.

I can only be ME, I can’t be someone else. I am my Mother’s baby girl, a Mother to my son Adreyn, Sister to my siblings, Aunt to my nieces and nephews and more. I can’t be anything more or less than what God wants me to be.That’s why it’s important to be steadfast and confident in “Who You Are” and strive to be the BEST you for you. Mom was a walking example of that. There will never be another Rev. Martha V. Alexander, but her presence can always be felt. She knew who she was and remained true to herself and faithful to God.
(Jeremiah 17:7-8 “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose trust is the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.”)

As I continue to learn and know myself I know I am greatness in the making because I am allowing God to do all the work. I strive to be a constant reflection of His grace and mercy while inspiring others as He inspires and humbles me. I am eternally grateful for the strength He provides me and the lessons my Mother taught me to be the BEST Merical Joy I can be. I may not be as “churchy” as some or go as often as others, one thing is true God knows my heart.

Hebrews 10:35-36 Therefore do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised…

Leave a Reply

