Her Story

One of the best things about Mom is her faith. When people call and ask how she’s doing or “stories” they’ve heard about how she is, we tell them is that her “story” is her faith. She still loves the Lord, she still believes, and is comforted by His mere presence.

Mom’s story became more clear to me when I was sitting with her the other day. She continued to say “Lord, I’m holding on. I don’t know what else to do. I’m holding on.” She looked in my direction and says to me, “You hold on too.” When her leg began to bother her, she prayed. Mom, is forever praying. There was even a moment when she said “God is trying to tell me something. I’m listening Lord.”

As hard as it is to hear, and even harder to see. I try to find some comfort in knowing she knows that God has her wrapped in His loving arms.

Psalm 34:1 comes to mind when I think of Mom. “I will bless the Lord at all times, His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” She’s praising the Lord, even now, whereas some would be cursing Him.

Perhaps my Mother’s love for the Lord is one of the best stories ever. She will live, love, laugh happily ever after, according to God’s ultimate plan.

Leave a Reply

