Moments

Mommy and Me day! After taking my son to school this morning, I packed up and headed to Mommy’s house. There, I was greeted with a warm smile, kiss and hug. While mom sat in her “big comfy chair” and I sat on the floor at her feet we began to chat about how she was feeling. She said “I’m trying to get better. I want to be whole again. I just don’t understand, I can’t be going through this for nothing.” As a tears fell from her eyes, I fought back my own. I placed my hand in hers and I said “Mom, you’re not broken and you are whole and you are surrounded by love. Nothing has been taken from you. You have everything right here in you and in the family that takes care of you.” she then said “I know, I am but I’m human too.”

As a child I feel that it is my duty to help take care of my mom because she took such good care of me. I can never repay her for all that she has done for me so it is a joy to give her a small portion what she’s given me, especially in times like this. Mom has always been SuperWoman to me and even now, she’s displaying her SuperWoman characteristics by getting up each day to fight this disease that has plagued her mind. Most of the time she doesn’t feel like something is wrong but KNOWING in your heart and in the back of your mind that something is indeed is wrong can cause even SuperWoman to have a moment of sadness. It is in those moments when she asks  Why? Why me, Lord?”

The Bible says in Isaiah 53:5 … by His stripes we are healed. Even when she questions, she STILL believes she is healed because the Word tells us so.

Leave a Reply

